Davis Besse Nuclear Power Station

The Davis Besse Nuclear Power Station is located in Ottawa County, Ohio. The ten mile federally mandated emergency exposure planning zone, often referred to as the “10 mile EPZ”, includes part of Jerusalem Township within Lucas County. Magee Marsh and Howard Marsh Metroparks are also within the 10 mile EPZ, and may be closed if necessary during an emergency at the plant.

Radiation Myths

Myth: Exposure to any amount of radiation will result in severe injury or death.

Truth:  Humans are designed to handle small amounts of radiation, and regularly receive both radiation from natural sources and medical treatments using radiation, including x-rays. 

Myth: Radiation from the sun and earth are fine for humans, but man-made radiation is dangerous. 

Truth: All radiation is the same, regardless of the source. 

Potassium iodide pills should be taken as a preventative measure. 

Truth: Only take potassium iodide pills if instructed to by local authorities. Not all radiological releases contain radioactive iodide, and the pills only prevent radioactive iodide from getting into your thyroid - they do not protect the rest of your body. 

Important Information

It is extremely unlikely that an emergency at Davis Besse will impact the public. If there is an emergency at Davis-Besse that results in the public needing to take action, you will be notified via sirens within Jerusalem Township, and you will also receive an Emergency Alert System message telling you where to get more information.

It is possible that an emergency at Davis-Besse would require either sheltering in place or evacuating. For information on how to be ready to either shelter in place or evacuate, check out our page about personal preparedness. 

For more information, check out our emergency preparedness brochure, or contact us at ema@co.lucas.oh.us.